Easter 2017

Random side note: was cleaning out the hall closet, and found an old purse.  With an old memory card stashed in a pocket. With some old pictures still on it.

Also on an old card

Glad to see the Moose hasn’t changed a bit. This is his face as he watched everyone else eating S’mores in front of him. I remember because it included a sad dramatic sniffling noise.  He still does that, too.

Found on an old memory card

So, whatever Moose, I got your number.

Good Friday we did the usual egg dyeing and the peep treats.

Easter 2017

_DSC5044

_DSC5057

The Lime Bandit strikes again.

_DSC5061

_DSC5063

Finished product.  Took about 90 minutes, should have taken 30 tops, but you know: KIDS.

_DSC5076

And also they love to decorate their beloved Halle Berry’s napping spots when she’s in dreamland. She wakes up none too happy.

_DSC5083

And then it was Easter.  I’ve been hiding puzzle pieces in the eggs, a sort of scavenger hunt for their baskets after they find all the eggs, except: Peter accidentally found the baskets before they found all the eggs, so: so much for that nonsense.

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

We had our now traditional KC Barbeque for dinner, which means starting all the dishes in the morning, if you want that true BBQ quality. I feel like I spent the entire damned day in the kitchen.  Don’t get me wrong, it was all divine!  But, still.  There went my Easter Sunday.

Easter 2017

It was actually a pretty beautiful day out though, so the boys spent some serious quality time goofing around in the yard.

Easter 2017

At one point I was SO OVER ALL THE COOKING and about thisclose to a nervous breakdown thanks to small-child hijinks, so… I went outside to the solitude of our backyard patio set, with a beer and my sunglasses, and sunned my very whitey-lady pale legs for a good 45 minutes.  It was glorious.  However I apologize to any neighbors I mentally scarred with the view of my scary-pale legs. It’s been a long winter.  That’s my excuse anyway.

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Almost dinner time.

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

FINALLY.

Easter 2017

Easter 2017

Scott did some 8-hour smoked ribs, and we had bacon-baked beans that slow-cooked on the stovetop all day, plus Jack Stack-style cheesy corn, and cornbread with honey butter, and a quick-dressed bacon salad.  It was all THE BEST EVARRRRR.  Oh KC BBQ, never leave me.

Easter 2017

And that’s it, friends. I hope everyone had a lovely, fulfilling Easter holiday.  See you again soon.

Oh actually nevermind I forgot to share one of the best BFFs on the planet.  Or at least in our neighborhood. She follows that kid around like a love-sick puppy dog.

Chums

Okay good bye for real this time.

Leave a Reply

