Iced Coffee

It has been hot for weeks. Oh my goodness, so so hot. So hot that we have abandoned our usual big pot of piping hot coffee in the mornings, it just doesn’t seem pleasant to be making ourselves any more hot than we need to be. But Scott and I, we are coffee lovers and caffeine fiends, so we need some kind of replacement to fill the void. Enter: iced coffee.

I first tried this out with Pioneer Woman’s recipe but sadly, it was a bit on the anemic side, as far as iced coffee goes. Then I turned to Smitten Kitchen, because frankly: that woman has never let me down . Hers has a fuller flavor, is stronger, and works perfectly for sipping on a hot hot day. So make some now, fill up a pitcher and stick it in the fridge and you don’t have to worry about burning up your coffee maker in this miserable steamy weather.

Cold-Brewed Ice Coffee
(Adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Ingredients:
2-1/2 to 3 c. espresso-ground coffee (espresso grind is best, in my humble opinion, but you can use another no problem)
1 gallon water

In a large, large bowl: stir together coffee and water. Cover and let rest at room temperature overnight or at least 12 hours.

Strain twice through a coffee filter, a tea towel, or a sieve lined with cheesecloth. I keep mine in a large pitcher in the fridge.

To prepare a glass: in a tall glass filled with ice, mix equal parts coffee concentrate and water, or to taste. If desired, add milk, sugar, honey, cream, etc. I like mine Vietnamese style, with a healthy slug of sweetened condensed milk.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hmm, see the keyword here is concentrate. I have been drinking this bitch straight no chaser. Oops, maybe I should have mixed with water. That explains some things!

  2. So, one of my sister’s boyfriend’s friends came up with this idea, but I sort of love it, so you can pretend it’s mine: You know how when you make iced coffee, inevitably, the ice melts, and your coffee gets watery? Well, this genius–um, I mean me–suggested freezing all those little amounts of leftover coffee in ice cube trays. Then, when you make iced coffee, you can ice with…wait for it…coffee! I haven’t actually tried it yet, but it sounds Nobel-worthy.

Leave a Reply

