S’mores Cookies

S’mores Cookies. One of my plans for the summer was to make S’mores, but given my klutziness combined with the child’s klutziness and his insistence on doing things on his own combined with his sneaky nature of doing things when my eyes glance away for a millisecond and then fire? Hello, it involves fire. So I decided not to do traditional S’mores. When this recipe started making the rounds on Pinterest, I realized it was the perfect alternative. And my intrepid sous chef could even help me put them together without any initial threat of severe burns.

I had a little problem with my cookies, they didn’t spread like the bar-style cookies in the original recipe. That’s fine though, instead they were like lovely little cookie S’mores, neatly baked on each square of graham cracker. No complaints here.

I did make a noted change from the original (aside from leaving out the cinnamon, which in my opinion has no place in S’mores or chocolate-chip cookies) – I changed the baking method. The initial instructions had you adding the Hershey’s bars midway through baking, which kinda jacked up the Hershey’s bars. Also, the marshmallows pretty much melted and separated and weren’t the yummy baked fluffy goodness I was looking for. You can see this in photos from my first batch. Not so appetizing, the appearance of those cookies.

So: at the midway point I added new marshmallows rather than the Hershey’s bars. I added the bars at the end, after taking the finished cookies out of the oven, and that fixed that problem. So! Follow my new instructions for baking, to get pretty pretty S’mores cookies like I got out of my 2nd batch.

S’mores Cookies
(from The Girl Who Ate Everything)

Ingredients:
11 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
1 c. brown sugar, packed
½ c. granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. sea salt
2 ½ c. flour
1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 c. mini marshmallows
3 regular sized Hershey’s bars, broken into pieces
1-2 pkgs graham crackers, broken into squares

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375F. Line baking pans with parchment paper (I used two full-size jelly-roll pans). Lay out graham crackers side by side on the pans as close as possible (they should be touching).

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and sea salt to combine. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter with white and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix until combined.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixer and combine on low speed.

Fold in the chocolate chips and marshmallows. Chill dough in refrigerator for 1 hour to overnight (or: not at all. I didn’t. Everything seemed to still turn out fine…).

Place tablespoons of dough on graham crackers; I centered mine on each (the original recipe says to space them an inch apart, probably why mine didn’t spread the same). Press down with fingertips.

Bake for about 7 minutes, then remove from oven and press a few extra mini marshmallows into each ball of dough.

Bake for 5 – 7 more minutes or until dough is beginning to turn golden brown at the edges. Remove to a wire rack to cool, and press Hershey’s pieces into dough. Allow to cool to room temperature.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yum! Looks like they’re SUPER healthy as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

