Jello Fruits

Workin’ on the Bucket List, folks.

Okay let me explain what I’m talking about first – in late spring, I noticed a lot of “summer bucket list” talk floating around blogs and message boards. I saw some pinned on Pinterest, and thought to myself “now that is a good idea”. Summer comes around, and every Memorial Day we talk about all the fabulous things we’re going to try that summer. And then next thing you know it’s Labor Day and we haven’t accomplished half of it. So anyway, I thought it was a fab idea and made a half-assed typed up list while on the computer doing other things. Then promptly lost it somewhere in the mess that is our home-office desk.

Come summer, our darling family photographers, The Solars, gave a challenge to their readers: Make a Summer Bucket List, make it fun, and start crossing things off. Er, oh yeah. The List. So I plucked it from the pile of papers on the desk, dusted it off, and cringed. Not exactly aesthetically pleasing. Now, my free time in the evening is short and precious, so I didn’t want to spend too long making a pretty wall-hanging thing. Instead I turned to Wordle, typed in all our items, and came up with the not-so-shabby version below, hanging on our fridge:

And we got to work! We’ve made it to all the zoos on our list. We’re hitting up all the summer events we’ve always only talked about. We’ve baked and made frozen treats and now – we’ve made Jell-o fruits.

I think this is a brilliant idea. Jell-o in fruit, fun for the kiddos and easy to handle and makes for the perfect porch treat after dinner (or maybe a snack while watching the dump truck and digger work on the driveway across the street). Charming! So: enjoy, one of the many fun items crossed off of our Summer Bucket List 🙂

Jell-o Fruits
(from NotMartha)

Ingredients:
2 pkgs. Jell-o (orange if you want the full orange effect)
1-1/4 c. boiling water
3-4 oranges (can also use lemons/limes, but I’ve read they can make the Jell-o taste bitter)

Slice your oranges in half. Take a paring knife and carefully cut around the edge, then “scoop” out the segments/pulp of each half using a large spoon. Scrape the spoon along the interior to get them cleaned out well. Then blot the interiors with a paper towel, to make sure they are nice and dry. Place each half in a muffin tin, to keep them nice and upright/level.

Make the Jell-o according to the Jiggler recipe (boiling water only). Pour into each orange half, then place the oranges/muffin-tin in fridge for at least 3 hours. When ready to eat, cut into segments. Enjoy!

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love that you have Funkytown on your bucky list for the summer! You must must tell me when this happening because I live a mile from it and I need to be there 🙂

    • Oh, Leslie, I had to google yours and I gotta say – I only wish I had meant that Funkytown. This one is in town and is just some bizarre yard meant for kiddos to explore. No awesomely cheesy 70s theme with adult beverages, alas 😛

  2. The first time I ever saw this was for jello shots. They would make a fabulous treat on hot sunny day spent on a boat!

  3. Yum, Yum, Yum! Headed to the lake next week and I’m totally making these!

  4. YUM! That looks so tasty! Thanks for sharing, that is such a fun idea! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great

Leave a Reply

