January Date Day

Our daycare takes off both New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, which is pretty much the only time I have heard of anyone getting both days off as holidays (LUCKY WOMAN).  At any rate she decided that today would be one of the days she was closed for the holiday, so I took a personal day at work and Doots and I had a date day.

We had a lazy morning, stayed in our PJs for a while and watched cartoons and read books in bed.  Took our time getting ready, I took a shower and did my hair – thank god for the current obsession with certain books, he played nicely on the bathroom floor while I got ready.  Kinda.  I blow-dried my hair, then he used the blow dryer as a laser gun, and I had to wrestle it away from him, and then he found my curling iron and that was a light saber, and I had to wrestle that away too, and THEN finally we curled our lashes and were ready to face the day.

First item on our agenda: breakfast.  I took him out to the McDonalds waaaaaaaaaay out on the northwest side of town, like basically on the opposite side of town as our house (yes McDs, don’t judge y’all).  Anyhoo, I knew they had a play area because it has a giant sign on the side saying so, I made a mental note last time we were randomly over on that side of town because by God: that makes the drive over there well worth it. 

(I had a few pictures of him chewing or jamming Cinnamon Melts into his mouth, but CLEARLY this out-of-focus one where he looks like a zombie was the best one.  So it’s the one you have the pleasure of viewing.)

We got there and had a little breakfast and mommy got a gigantic coffee.  After eating we finally headed to the back to play.  Um, okay: when I was a kid, the play areas were like, a ball pit and maybe some pieces of plastic screwed together to somewhat resemble a large cat-tower.  Today, you have three-story treehouses, large tornado slides (and smaller slides for the younger set), smooshy plastic animals to play on, fancy schmancy recycled-tire-soft flooring…  Insane. Needless to say, we played here for awhile.  Over an hour.  The only way I could get him out was to tell him we were “just going to the bathroom, then we’ll be back”.  Works like a charm, because by the time we are done having so much fun with the hand dryer and automatic soap dispenser, we’ve forgotten all about the play area…  I am taking full advantage of that short attention span while I still can.

(This photo is here to show you just how huuuuuuuge the play area treehouse thing was.  Three levels!  You can’t even see the third one in this picture!  Holy moly.)

So there was a smooshy plastic leopard and he loooooved it.  Kitty.  Kitty.  Kitty.  He kept hugging it and resting his head on it and telling it he loved it.  This is his new thing – anything he has great affection for, he will tell it, “Iiiii-yuuuuuuuhhhh-yooooooooo, [insert name of thing or person here]”.  Then he peppers he/she/it with kisses, complete with smooching noises.  One the one hand: kinda cute.  On the other hand: perhaps a sign that he watches a little too much Lifetime Movie Channel with mommy.

We hit up Walmart while we were on that side of town (I should have stopped at the Starbucks there too, completed the Trifecta of Corporate America Overlords).  Then home and a little playtime (and cooking) before his nap.

We were going to hit up the Library in the afternoon, but it was late in the afternoon so instead we opted for some quality time spent outside in the yard, then a few spins in the Coupe.  Peter has a love for mittens which I am thankful for – it means I don’t feel as guilty taking him out on chilly days.

And the  time-honored tradition continues – we made chocolate chip cookies.  Peter added the chips.

He hid a few away to feed to Momo.

And that, my friends, was that.  It was fun.  I love my job, I have a passion for my work and I love the feeling of accomplishment it gives me, and I love all the positive things that come from Peter attending a daycare.  That said: sometimes I think I get the allure of being a stay-at-home mommy.

Back to the Grind tomorrow.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. great post! looks like a super duper day.

  2. Elisa (Kirksey ;-) ) January 16, 2011 — 3:29 pm

    That’s at MCDONALD’S?! Wow. No Hamburgler jail thing for today’s kids.

Leave a Reply

