Spritz Cookies

I usually use the trusty, homey, totally awesome family recipe for Spritz cookies, always have.  I love that recipe.  Only: once I moved from home and away from my mom’s awesome cookie press, the recipe didn’t work for me any longer.  I tried a borrowed cookie press from a friend at first, then bought a cheap one.  Then I sprung for a really really nice cookie press a few years ago, Williams Sonoma’s finest, and still.  I could not get the dough through the darn press.  Grrr!  Well, I decided, maybe it was just the recipe.  Maybe I wrote it down incorrectly.  Maybe I should try a few others.

And I did.  And they still were too firm for my cookie press.  In a final, desparate move – I tossed out the idea of Spritz cookies all together and made some Jello cookies (supposedly, a no-fail recipe).  That dough came close to making me break the handle off of my press from me squeezing the handle so hard.  Fab.  In the end I just smooshed the press plate on top of balls of the cookies before baking, hoping that would work.  All that produced was a batch of cookies that resembled bewbie pasties.  I, er, blogged them anyway.

The new-fangled plastic cookie presses just do not work like their older metal counterparts, I finally admitted to myself.  This year I switched things up a bit and just googled “No Fail Spritz New Cookie Press”, and came upon this version.  Worked like a charm, the dough was super soft, a dream to use with my cookie press.  But not only that.  These Spritz cookies keep their shape beautifully, yet stay super-soft.  And they are amazingly buttery, a good compliment to the signature almond flavor.  Um, wow. 

While it’s sad that I can’t use the family recipe with my cookie press, this one will do just fine until the day comes that I get a metal press of my own 😉

 

No-Fail Spritz Cookies
(from Tricia’s Kitchen)

Ingredients:
1 c. (2 sticks) salted butter, softened
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tsp. almond extract
2 1/3 c. flour
Assorted decorations for cookies

Pre-heat oven to 350F.  Cream butter.  Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy.

Beat in egg and almond extract.  Gradually blend in flour.

Fill cookie press and press cookies directly onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Decorate cookies with your desired decorations.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until edges are lightly golden.  Remove to wire rack to cool completely.
One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Are you kidding me? I just made these today and hunted high and low for a recipe before finally coming up with my own — and it’s the exact same recipe as yours (except I used 2 1/4 c flour and 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond). They are delicious!

Leave a Reply

